Good weekend & healthy recipe

I had a good weekend – started if off with a 7am bike ride along Beach Rd, we went from Sandringham to Frankston and back and I achieved an average speed of 27km/hr (total 58.5kms) – definitely my best effort yet!

I got lots of cooking done as well, and made one of my old favourites. This recipe is great for lunches or as a side dish and is really quick to make (once the rice is cooked). I got it off the back of the brown rice packet!

 

Brown Rice Salad

Brown Rice SaladIngredients:

2 cups cooked brown rice (cooled)

1 can four bean mix, drained

1 cup green beans, chopped (raw or blanched)

1/2 bunch parsley (optional)

1 punnet cherry tomatoes, halved

4 tblspns extra virgin olive oil

2 tblspns white wine or apple cider vinegar

1 tblspn whole grain mustard

1 small red onion, chopped

salt & pepper to taste

 

Method:

Mix all ingredients in a large bowl

Season to taste with salt and pepper

Serves 6-8.

 

My weekend at a glance:

  • 58.5km bike ride (average speed 27km/hr)
  • Caught up with friends
  • Did a huge batch of cooking for my brother and his girlfriend to tide them over while she is sick
  • Two loads of laundry
  • Watered the front garden (forgot to do the back – oops)
  • Started taking photos to fill my Stylebook app – it’s a time-consuming process but should be a great tool once it’s done!

Food-wise, I was sort-of good. I ate a nut bar during my bike ride which was definitely not allowed for the Febfast No-sugar Challenge, and yesterday I fell off the wagon spectacularly. It always seems to be the weekends that get me 😦

Anyway, today is Monday, which means a fresh start. I’m planning on doing my 12WBT Fitness Test after my spin class tonight, and my first weigh in for a couple of weeks, so we’ll see where I’m at.

2 thoughts on “Good weekend & healthy recipe

  1. Pingback: A great week | theyearofmeblog

Leave a Reply

