An update

So I had a fairly good weekend. My mom came to stay and we tackled my back garden which was pretty much a weed jungle. It’s looking much better now! In between that we caught up on a week’s worth of The Block episodes, and caught up with my brother and his girlfriend for lunch. Saturday night I met up with a couple of friends for dinner.

A couple of things happened Saturday which I’m still thinking about.

First, I got a text from February Not So Fun Guy – out of the blue, saying something along the lines of being back in Melbourne (I have no idea where he had gone)…movie? I just don’t get this guy. He can’t pick up the phone, he obviously doesn’t understand basic communication skills, specifically the part where I said I wasn’t interested anymore. Anyway, I have deleted the message. But not before I told my friends about it on Saturday night, and they spent at least 20 minutes telling me to stop wasting my time with him etc etc. Not exactly ground-breaking advice, especially since I have already told him to take a hike, and I wasn’t going to reply. I guess I just wasn’t in the mood for their advice?

Anyway, the conversation of course continued along the topic of relationships, dating etc. One friend is also single, the other recently married her boyfriend/fiance/husband of six years. The single friend declared that it was not normal for single guys to have never had one or two girlfriends in the past – that if this was the case there was clearly something wrong with them. My defenses immediately went up. I am chronically single – whilst I have dated on and off, nothing has lasted beyond 6 weeks, and I have never called any of these guys my boyfriend. I have had one boyfriend in my life, when I was 23 and it lasted about a year. So I asked my friend how she defined “boyfriend/girlfriend” in this context. Her definition was someone you see at least twice a week and would refer to as your boyfriend/girlfriend. So I said that by her definition I have only ever had one boyfriend . She did a massive backpedal and explained her opinion only related to men having girlfriends, not the other way around. Which makes even less sense to me – I think single men get way less judgement for being single – carefree bachelors sowing their wild oats and all that, which single women get the constant “why are you single” and “don’t leave it too long to have children” judgements piled upon them.

So that’s what is going on in my head at the moment…

Leave a Reply

